The Grey Giraffe with a Bow Tie (Pattern)

Hello Everyone!

Earlier I promised you to post an improved pattern for a giraffe I made before by I Love Buttons. But when I started to crochet my giraffe again I thought that I wouldn’t improve the pattern. It would be better if I added the things I like to it and recount everything. I’m finally done with it. I didn’t expect it to take so much time to write down a pattern. It took me a whole two days with crocheting, correcting, deleting etc. Here is the result: a lovely grey giraffe with a bow tie. 

giraffe1

Pattern

I used the invisible decrease all the time I had to decrease (dec).

I also crocheted in back loops while making legs and arms because I love how it looks.

The bow tie pattern can be found here. I used my bow pattern + made a collar (ch31, hdc in second chain from hook, hdc all the time, fasten off), and sew them together on a giraffe.

The only thing I didn’t really change and left the same as Emma (I Love Buttons) did (except that I always start with a magic ring) were ears.

Please, follow instructions and pay attention. If there is “join” you should join, if I don’t write it then it means you should crochet around without joining.

Arms (make 2):

R1: Magic ring, 6 sc in a MR, join.
R2: 2 sc in each sc around (12), join.
R3: [2sc, sc] repeat 6 times (18), join.
R4: work only in back loops. sc 18, join.
Change color.
R5: deep sc 18, join.
R6: dec1, sc 1 (12).
R7-R23: sc 12.
Slip stitch in next, fasten off, leaving a long tail for sowing together.
Stuff firmly, don’t stuff too much near the end.

Legs (make 2):

R1: Magic RIng, 6 sc in MR, join.
R2: 2sc in each sc around (12), join.
R3: [2sc, sc] rep 6 times (18), join.
R4: [2sc, sc in next 2] rep 6 times (24), join.
R5 – R6: sc 24, join.
R7: in back loops, sc 24, join.
Change color.
R8: deep sc 24, join.
R9: [dec, sc in next 2] rep 6 times (18).
R10: [dec, sc] rep 6 times (12).
R11 – R33: sc 12.
Slip stitch in next, fasten off, leaving a long tail for sowing together.
Stuff firmly, don’t stuff too much near the end.

Horns (make 2):

R1: Magic Ring, 6sc in MR
R2: 2sc in each sc around (12)
R3 – R6: sc 12
Stuff firlmy.
R7: dec, sc (8)
R8 – R14: sc 8.
Slip stitch in next, fasten off, leaving a long tail for sowing together.
Finish stuffing.

Head:

R1: Magic Ring, 6sc in MR.
R2: 2 sc in each sc around (12)
R3: [2sc, sc] rep 6 times (18)
R4: [2sc, sc in next 2] rep 6 times (24)
R5: [2sc, sc in next 3] rep 6 times (30)
R6: [2sc, sc in next 4] rep 6 times (36)
R7-R11: sc 36.
Change color.
R12-R14: sc 36.
R15: [2sc, sc 5] rep 6 times (42). Remember to add your eyes if you are using pearls.
R16: [2sc, sc 6] rep 6 times (48)
R17-R19: sc 48.
R20: [dec, sc 6] rep 6 times (42)
R21: [dec, sc 5] rep 6 times (36)
R22: [dec, sc 4] rep 6 times (30)
R23: [dec, sc 3] rep 6 times (24)
Stuff firmly.
R24: [dec, sc 2] rep 6 times (18)
R25: [dec, sc] rep 6 times (12)
R26: dec 6 (6)
Slip stitch in next stitch, fasten off, and weave in the ends.

Ears (make 2):

R1: Magic Ring, sc 6 in MR
R2: 2 sc in each sc around (12)
R3: [2sc, sc] rep 6 times (18)
R4-R10: sc 18.
Slip stitch to next stitch, fasten off, leaving a long tail for sowing.

Body:

R1: Magic Ring, sc 6 in Mr.
R2: 2sc in each sc around (12)
R3: [2sc, sc] rep 6 times (18)
R4: [2sc, sc in next 2] rep 6 times (24)
R5: [2sc, sc in next 3] rep 6 times (30)
R6: [2sc, sc in next 4] rep 6 times (36)
R7: [2sc, sc in next 5] rep 6 times (42)
R8: [2sc, sc in next 6] rep 6 times (48)
R9: [2sc, sc in next 7] rep 6 times (54)
R10-R19: sc 54.
R20: [dec, sc in next 7] rep 6 times (48)
R21: [dec, sc in next 6] rep 6 times (42)
R22: [dec, sc in next 5] rep 6 times (36)
R23: [dec, sc in next 4] rep 6 times (30)
R24: [dec, sc in next 8] rep 3 times (27)
Stuff firmly.
R25-R37: sc 27.
Slip stitch to next stitch, fasten off, leaving a long tail for sowing.
Stuff firmly.

Tail:

R1: Magic ring, sc 6 in MR.
R2: 2sc in each sc around (12)
R3: 2sc, sc in next 3 (15)
R4-R15: sc 15.
Slip stitch in next stitch.
Stuff very lightly.
Sow all parts together. 
Add hair.

giraffe2

In the picture above you can see the stripy giraffe I made earlier using I Love Buttons by Emma pattern. They look adorable together!

When I was taking pictures outside our dog was playing around. I think she loves these two little ones too.

IMG_8029

giraffe

I cannot say that this pattern is totally mine as I used another one as inspiration and basis. But if you do make it please link back to my blog. Thank you and have fun crocheting!

I just got a wonderful idea! One great girl called Camila suggested me to make a dragon! Isn’t it awesome? I should be able to use this pattern as basis and then make it more dragonish 😀 I will definitely give it a try once I’m done with other projects. Thank you, Camila! Maybe someone else has any great ideas as well?? Share it, I will be more than happy to hear them and maybe fulfill some 🙂

This post was featured on:

16 thoughts on “The Grey Giraffe with a Bow Tie (Pattern)

  1. These giraffe’s are so stinkin cute! I love them. I so wish I knew how to do this… I love them 🙂 The colors are perfect and the are so much fun. You are wonderfully talented! Krista @ A Handful of Everything

    • Thank you for the lovely comment! You really know how to make people smile 😉 I think you just need to try and you will find out that it is easier than you imagine 😉

  2. Pingback: Link Party with Titi Crafty! |

  3. Pingback: Free Knitting and Crochet Patterns and Tutorials on Blogs | CraftyAlleyCat

    • Hello, it’s ok. Here are not shortenings:
      MR – magic ring
      sc – single crochet
      dec – decrease
      rep – repeat
      I hope it helps. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Oversættelser på vej... - Tulle Momsemor

  5. Pingback: Den Grå Giraf Med Butterfly - Tulle Momsemor

  6. Pingback: Bewitch Me & Titi Link Party {4} | Titicrafty by CamilaTiticrafty by Camila

Tell me what's on your mind

