Heart Baby Blanket (pattern)

I am bit late with the heart baby blanket pattern but here it is. I was done knitting the blanket a few days ago and just finished writing down the pattern. If you find any mistakes, please tell me because it is the very first time I’m making a pattern for a knitting project. I have to tell you that the original idea wasn’t mine. I found a picture of this blanket and a pattern for the heart in one Lithuanian forum. I don’t know who originally created it but thank you. Nevertheless, I had problems with figuring out how many stitches I should cast on before starting it etc. Therefore, I have written down the way I made it so I can help someone who also wants to knit it. All the pictures of the pattern are made by me; the one I found wasn’t as detailed as mine is. I have to mention that it involves not only knitting but crocheting as well (the edges), unless you want to finish it with knitting too (it is possible). 

pattern1

symbols

Size: app. 102x85cm

Yarn: Eldorado Home (handicraft); Color 6687; 1232m or 550g.

Needles: size 3mm (or 3 1/2 – 4) or size needed to obtain correct gauge.

Gauge: 21sts and 28 rows = 10x10cm (4″x4″) in stocking stitch using 3 1/2-4mm needles.

Instructions

ALWAYS REMEMBER NOT TO KNIT THE FIRST STITCH IN THE BEGINNING OF EACH LINE. IT WILL MAKE YOUR EDGES MORE BEAUTIFUL AND AFTERWARDS IT WILL BE EASIER TO PICK UP THE STITCHES WHEN YOU KNIT THE EDGE.

Cast on 159 stitches and work 4 rows: 1 and 3 row in a knit stitch, 2 and 4 row in purl stitch (every second row should be done in purl stitch). Every 22nd stitch is a yarn over and every 23 stitch is a k2tog (slope to the left). Follow the pattern for better help. It will make 7 different squares: one with a heart and one without. The square without a heart should be done in a knit stitch every second row, and in a purl stitch every second row. You can choose that all squares are heart too. It doesn’t change the math.

After each square there are two stitches as mentioned above. They do not exist in the very beginning of knitting or in the very end.

After you are done with a heart pattern, you should work 4 rows as in the beginning of the pattern.

When you are done with a first square line you should work 2 rows which are:

Row1 (25 in a picture): 1st (just move it on the other needle, do not knit), 2nd and 3rd st in knit st. 4th yarn over, k2tog (slope to the left)*repeat as many times as you need. Knit the last two st in a knit st.

Row2 (26 in a picture): 1 (just move it on the other needle, do not knit), purl stitch. 22 and 23 st as shown in a picture (always do it after 21 st, so it separates the squares).

When knitting a heart pay attention to the slope: sometimes it is to the left, and sometimes to the right.

Finishing: pick up the stitches at the one of the sides of the blanket (you can choose whichever edge you want to start from) or crochet around with your chosen edging pattern (I chose granny style).

Heart Baby Blanket New folder4

 

6 thoughts on “Heart Baby Blanket (pattern)

  1. This is so lovely! I love baby yarn blankets! Thank you so much for stopping by and linking this up at Bewitch Me & Titi! Hope to have you there next Sunday with a new awesome creation!

    Hope you are having a lovely day

    Hugs
    Cami @ TitiCrafty by Camila

  2. Love this pattern! Find the instruction s a little confusing though… The chart only shows a slip stitch on the first stitch every other row.. On the plain squares where you have follow row 1 and 2 in not sure I understand either. Can you clarify it for me? And thanks for sharing your beautiful pattern

    • I am not very good with knitting terminology. What do you mean by slip stitch? I do not knit the first stitch in every single line. I just move it on the needle and then continue knitting following the pattern. I hope it’s what you meant.

Tell me what's on your mind

