Crochet Bib with a Teddy Bear and a Balloon

At the moment I’m working on a big project: I’m crocheting an activity blanket. In my plans it should be 1.50×1.50m. It’s long but not very hard work. I’m already done with one square, and that leaves me with 8 to go. It also means that I don’t really have much time to crochet something else. On the other hand, I do get tired from doing the same thing again and again. Therefore I have made this cute bib. For a base I followed this pattern: so-simple baby bibs.  

Crochet bib

The balloon pattern was taken from Calleigh’s Clips & Crochet Creations blog. Thank you for this lovely and easy pattern! 🙂 The bear applique was created by me. Here is how you can make it:

You have always join with a slip stitch after each round.

Belly

R1: Magic ring, 6 sc in a ring.

R2: 2sc in each sts (12).

R3: [2sc in a first st, 1sc in next] rep 6 times, ch1 (18)

R4: [2sc, sc in next 2] rep 6 times, ch1 (24)

R5: [2sc, sc in next 3] rep 6 times, ch 1 (30)

R6: [2sc, sc in next 4] rep 6 times, ch1 (36)

R7: [2sc, sc in next 5] rep 6 times, ch 1 (42)

R8: sc in each sts (42). Fasten off.

Arms (make 2):

(start with connecting them to the belly straight away when you start your chain)

R1: ch 10

R2: 3hdc in a 2nd ch from hook, hdc in each stitch. Slip stitch in a body. Fasten off.

Legs (make 2):

(start the same way you did with arms)

R1: ch 7

R2: 3hdc in a 2nd ch from hook, hdc in each stitch. Slip stitch in a body. Fasten off.

Head:

R1: Magic ring, 6 sc in a ring.

R2: 2sc in each stitch (12).

R3: [2 sc, sc in next] rep 5 times (18).

R4: [2sc, sc in next 2] rep 5 times (24).

R5: [2 sc, sc in next 3] rep 5 times (30).

R6: sc in each stitch. Fasten off.

Nose:

R1: Magic ring, 5 sc in a ring.

R2: 2 sc in 1st stitch, 2 hdc in next stitch, 2 dc in next stitch, 2 hdc in next stitch, 2 sc in the last stitch. Slip stitch in next, fasten off. Sew to the head.

Ears (make 2):

(start with connecting them to the heady straight away when you start)

R1: sc, 2hdc in next, dc in next, 2 hdc in next, slip stitch in the last one. Fasten off.

Embroider eyes and nose.

When I was sewing it on the bib I stuffed the belly and the balloon a bit so they are not flat.

Crochet bib

Featured on:

craftandrepeat

9 thoughts on “Crochet Bib with a Teddy Bear and a Balloon

    • Ha ha..:) Thank you. Well, I was always from those people who didn’t mind to eat beautiful cakes and use beautiful stuff. Remember hating when my mom was hiding beautiful clothes in a closet for a special day. Clothes used to get old and never worn 😀 Beautiful things have to be used! 🙂

  1. Pingback: On Display Monday Link Party #4 | craftandrepeat

    • I am probably from those people who use things… When I make them I like to use them. Makes me feel bored if it would be hidden in a closet 😀

  2. This is SOOO Cute, I really love your work you know?…. I can feel all the love you put into it! I wish I had the patience to knit or crochet like that. I’m learning though but I really don’t have the gift of patience LOL! Maybe someday!

    I haven’t hear from you in a while so I hope you are ok!

    XOXO
    Cami @ TitiCrafty by Camila

    • Thank you, you make me blush 🙂 Yes, I’m busy with my exams. I can’t wait to be done and get back to crocheting or knitting. Especially, when I see unfinished projects lying in front of me on the table 😀 Sadly, my exams will be done only by the end of June.

      Hugs 🙂

Tell me what's on your mind

