Security Blanket – Mr. Fox

Hello. I know that I’m quite unproductive lately but I promise I’ll get better after next week. Knitter’s word! 😉

Today I’ve finally finished a new security blanket – Mr. Fox. After I was done with it, it reminded me of something but I couldn’t remember what. I know it has to be something from a cartoon. I asked my beloved man about it and he agreed with me. Sadly, he couldn’t remember either. Maybe you can give me a hint if you do.

IMG_8555

I also made a pattern for it.

PATTERN:

The base:

I started it making as in this helpful tutorial by Just Do and here.

I made 16 rounds.

In first 10 rounds I used orange yarn.

In next 6 I used white (2 rounds), brown (2 rounds), and black (2 rounds.)

The last 2 rounds (orange):

R1: sc 10, hdc in next 4, dc in next 4, tr in next 4, dbtr in next 4, ch 3, dbtr in next 4, tr in next 4, dc in next 4, hdc in next 4, sc 9. –> rep 4 times.

R2: hdc all the time except in the corners; corners: 2 hdc, dc, ch, dc, 2 hdc.

Slip stitch to the next stitch, fasten off, hide loose ends.

Head:

Start with orange:

MR, sc6 in the ring

R1: 2sc in each sts

R2: 2sc, sc –> rep 6 times (12)

R3: 2sc, sc2 –> rep 6 times (18)

R4: 2sc, sc3 –> rep 6 times (24)

R5: 2 sc, sc4 –> rep 6 times (30)

R6: 2sc, sc5 –> rep 6 times (36)

Change to white:

R7-R9: sc in each sts (36)

Change back to orange:

R10-R12: sc in each sts (36)

R13: dec, sc4 –> rep 6 times (30)

R14: dec, sc3 –> rep 6 times (24)

R15: dec, sc2 –> rep 6 times (18)

R16: dec, sc –> rep 6 times (12)

R17: dec  –> rep 6 times (6)

Slip stitch to the next stitch. Fasten off, leaving a long tail for sowing it to the base.

Ears (make 2):

Start with brown:

MR, 4sc in a MR

R1: 2sc in each (8)

Change color to orange:

R2: 2sc, sc –> rep 4 times (12)

R3: 2sc, sc2 –> rep 4 times (16)

R4: 2 sc, sc3 –> rep 4 times (20)

Slip stitch to the next stitch, fasten off leaving a long tail for sewing it to the head.

Nose:

Start with black:

MR, sc 4 in MR

R1: 2sc –> rep 4 times (8)

Change to orange:

R2: 2sc, sc –> rep 4 times (12)

R3-R4: sc around (12)

R5: 2sc, sc2 –> rep 4 times (16)

R6: sc around (16)

Slip stitch to the next stitch, fasten off leaving a long tail for sewing it to the head.

Eyes (make 2):

Use white color.

MR, sc 4 in MR

R1: 2sc –> rep 4 times (8)

R2: 2sc, sc –> rep 4 times (12)

Slip stitch to the next stitch, fasten off leaving a long tail for sewing it to the head.

You can embroider it or just sew a black pearl to each eye.

Sew everything together.

Of course, I’ve made more pictures of my Mr. Fox. You might ask why Mr., I don’t know, I just feel that he is a man.

Desktop3 Desktop4 IMG_8576

*** You may make and sell products from my patterns but if you do I ask that you link back to my post. Please do not copy and post this pattern and claim it as your own. Please do not re-publish photos as your own.***

16 thoughts on “Security Blanket – Mr. Fox

  1. Very cute. Kind if reminds me of Sonic. He also reminds me of the fox in a book I had for my kids. The one about The Sky is Falling…

  2. He reminds me of the fox and vixen in The Animals of Farthing Wood. Adorable. Thank you so much for sharing the pattern. 🙂

    Love Joan xx

  3. I am wanting to make this for a friend of mine that just had a baby and I was wondering, what kind of yarn did you use and what size hook did you use for this? Thank you!!!

    • I used cotton and 3.75mm hook. In general, you can use any type of yarn you want and then the suitable hook 😉 remember to share your result 🙂

      • Thank you I will let you know how it comes out!! I have some worsted that I am using right now and I am using a 4.5 hook right now. 🙂

  4. Pingback: 30 Free Crochet Lovey Patterns Oombawka Design Crochet

    • Hello. I am not very good at knitting. So sorry 🙂 I can knit very simple patterns and I am way too far away from creating my own.

  5. reminds me of “Swiper ” on “Dora the Explorer ” my little one use to watch that all the time .. she doesnt any more cause she is 12 now lol .. but thats who it reminds me of

Tell me what's on your mind

