Bubbly Diaper Cover

Good day!

Remember the lovely “Sheep” set for a newborn?

IMG_8660

You loved it and are wondering how to make that lovely diaper cover too? No need to wait any longer – yesterday, I wrote down a pattern for it. If you find any mistakes, please, let me know. I was also inspired by Crochet A Flower. You can see that I’ve borrowed the first 3 rounds and size measurements. Thank you! Your pattern was a big help for me in designing The Bubbly Diaper Cover.

You can download this pattern on PDF: Bubbly Diaper Cover.

Pattern

I used hook size J.

Info on the yarn label:

100% acrylic

Hook size: 5 1/2 – 6

Gauge: 10cm x 10cm – 15 m

 

Start with ch 55.

R1: sc in 2nd ch from hook, sc in every stitch across, ch 1, turn (54)

R2: trc in every stitch across, ch 1, turn (54)

R3: sc in every stitch across, fasten off (54)

R4: count 15 stitches from the side and slip stitch in the stitch 16; ch 3, bobble in the same stitch, hdc, [bobble, hdc] –> rep 11 times, ch 3, turn (24)

IMG_8667

diaper

R5: hdc in every stitch across, ch 3, turn (24)

R6: bobble in the same stitch, hdc, [bobble, hdc] –> rep 11 times, ch 3, turn (24)

R7: hdc in every stitch across, ch 3, turn (24)

R8: bobble in the same stitch, hdc, [bobble, hdc] –> rep 11 times, ch 3, turn (24)

R9: hdc in every stitch across, ch 3, turn (24)

R10: bobble in the same stitch, hdc, [bobble, hdc] –> rep 11 times, ch 3, turn (24)

R11: hdc2tog, hdc 20, hdc2tog, ch 3, turn (22)

R12: hdc2tog, hdc, [bobble, hdc] –> rep 8 times, hdc, hdc2tog, ch 3, turn (20)

R13: hdc2tog, hdc 16, hdc2tog, ch 3, turn (18)

R14: hdc2tog, hdc, [bobble, hdc] –> rep 6 times, hdc, hdc2tog, ch 3, turn (16)

R15: hdc in every stitch across, ch 3, turn (16)

R16: hdc 2, [bobble, hdc] –> rep 6 times, hdc 2, ch 3, turn (16)

R17: hdc in every stitch across, ch 3, turn (16)

R18: hdc 2, [bobble, hdc] –> rep 6 times, hdc 2, ch 3, turn (16)

R19: hdc in every stitch across, ch 3, turn (16)

R20: hdc 2, [bobble, hdc] –> rep 6 times, hdc 2, ch 3, turn (16)

R21: hdc in every stitch across, ch 3, turn (16)

R22: hdc 2, [bobble, hdc] –> rep 6 times, hdc 2, ch 3, turn (16)

R23: 2hdc in the same stitch as chain, hdc 14, 2 hdc in last stitch, ch 3, turn (18)

R24: hdc, [bobble, hdc] –> rep 7 times, hdc, ch3, turn (18)

R25 – R27: hdc in every stitch across, ch 3, turn (18)

R28: hdc in every stitch across, ch 1, sc around the edges, fasten off, weave in ends. Sew one or two big buttons. I prefer the looks of two buttons. 

diaper3

I had a great chance to take pictures in my in-laws garden, so here they are – diaper covers in blue and pink. 

diaper2

diaper1

*** You may make and sell products from my patterns but if you do I ask that you link back to my post. Please do not copy and post this pattern and claim it as your own. Please do not re-publish photos as your own.***

41 thoughts on “Bubbly Diaper Cover

    • Hello, I could make it. I will try to do it today 😉 I’m afraid that the only thing I won’t be able to write is the information about the yarn. I can’t also make the pattern of the hat into pdf becaue it is not mine. You could ask Sarah from Repeat Crafter Me. 🙂

    • I think it should it fit a newborn up to 6-9 month. It depends on your yarn and hook size. Didn’t have a baby to try it on. As soon as I get one, will edit the post. 🙂

    • I think I use the same thing just call it differentely. I do 5 dc in one stitch and pull the yarn through all the leftover stitches I hope you understand what I mean). That’s it. Then I make 1 sc in the next stitch. 🙂

    • Actually there is a difference between the Bobble, Puff and Raspberry Stitch. Most people think they are all the same but they are not. Research this and you will find sites that show you the difference. 🙂

    • I think I use the same thing just call it differentely. I do 5 dc in one stitch and pull the yarn through all the leftover stitches I hope you understand what I mean). That’s it. Then I make 1 sc in the next stitch. 🙂

  1. Hi there. I can’t figure out if it’s a single crochet or a half double crochet after every bobble. Help please

  2. I just finished this :). Thank you for the pattern! I do want to say though, that with size j hook, and #4 worsted weight yarn, this is bigger than a newborn size. More like 6 months? Great pattern though! Easy to follow!

    • Hey! By the time I didn’t have kids. Today, I have to agree with you. It is bigger than newborns size. I think it depends on a baby’s bum. Ours was tiny, so it could fit him up to 9 months, if I remember right 🙂

  3. I’m struggling with yarn weight/gauge. Is it English chubby weight yarn? If so 15 stitches would seem a lot for 4″.

  4. Greetings!! I am currently working on the bubbly diaper cover pattern and I understand that we are to do a bobble stitch(5dc)into the same stitch, and your pattern also says to hdc but it doesn’t specify which stitch. And your reply above says to sc into next stitch but the pattern doesn’t say to do this, it only mentions a hdc. Into what stitch are we making the hdc? Is it in the same stitch as the bobble or into the next stitch? Thank you in advance😊into absolutely love the pattern as well.

    • hdc into the next stitch after the bobble. It is because I don’t use it this way in my pattern. I mean, I use HDC instead of SC in my pattern. I just explained how a bobble stitch is made. But good point! I should’ve done it better. Need to learn to be more clear! Thank you! 🙂

  5. Thanks so much for the pattern. My daughter is due (with my first granddaughter) in just a few days and she wants a lamb set finished by her birthdate. I found a hat pattern that she liked but searched around until I found your pattern for a matching diaper cover. I had to do a few variations because I’m working with a chunky yarn, and will add a tail. Adorable!

    • Thank you! I am hoping to get back to it! Sometimes life just hits you and then you take a pause. I think it’s been way too long. 🙂 Thank you for being with me even if I wasn’t here.

  6. Pingback: FREE Diaper Cover Crochet Patterns - My Blog

Tell me what's on your mind

