Crochet Baby Booties

Good Day!

I should be sitting and working on my study product for English but I can’t force myself to do it. The reason is very serious: I have to write this wonderful post about crochet baby booties. The next reason is that there are so many things I didn’t find yet so I just have to sit and search internet for inspirational ideas. My conscious is not very happy with me. Oh well, I cannot make everyone happy! Isn’t it right? 😀

Few days ago I saw a picture of the wonderful baby booties, and I couldn’t stop myself from making them. The first attempt wasn’t that good because I wasn’t reading the pattern carefully. I had to try a few times until I got it (don’t get misled, it’s a very easy pattern, it’s just me). I even had to follow a video to find out what I was doing wrong. My advice: read the pattern carefully, make stitches in the right places, and don’t forget to count. My biggest mistake was to miss Sarah’s suggestion to use invisible decrease. Therefore, my first booties don’t look as wonderful as I wished. You can see the difference between my first ones with a normal decrease (girly ones), and the gray ones with an invisible stitch. The difference is huge! I generally like the second ones better.

Desktop23

After I was done with the first pair (and, of course, I was feeling sad that I wasn’t reading carefully and didn’t make an invisible decrease), I decided to make a little bow to hide my mistake. You can find the pattern for the bow here: Crochet Bow Pattern. I think they look much better with a bow on.

Desktop26

I also have to say thank you for this great pattern I got from Repeat Crafter Me. I am still confused about how I end up with 23 stitches instead of 22 though. I counted a hundred times and it didn’t change, even in my second attempt making these booties. Though, funny thing. The first booty would always end up with 23, and the second one with 22. I don’t understand why and how, I think it’s a mystery. I’m not going to give up. I will make more of them, just to figure out what happened and how I managed to miscount. 

Desktop24 Desktop25 Desktop27

*** You may make and sell products from my patterns but if you do I ask that you link back to my post. Please do not copy and post this pattern and claim it as your own. Please do not re-publish photos as your own.***

I would also use a bigger hook next time because my baby booties  are suitable only for a newborn. They are only 8 cm long. I used a hook size F/5 (3,75 mm) this time and the thickest wool yarn I had, and they still turned out tiny. Nevertheless, I adore them!

16 thoughts on “Crochet Baby Booties

    • Thank you 🙂 I am done with my paper works. Forced myself to finish the last one, so now just waiting for the exams. It also means that I have lots of time to do what I really like. 🙂

  1. Absolutely cute and adorable Ruta, you have such a good taste for colors and style! thank you so much for stopping by and linking this up at Bewitch Me & Titi! Hope to have you there tomorrow with a new awesome creation!

    Hope you are having a wonderful weekend

    Hugs
    Cami @ TitiCrafty by Camila

    • Thank you Camila 🙂 You are so sweet.. I will definitely be there, it’s very nice to party!!! 🙂 Have a nice day dear 🙂

  2. Ok found the bow pattern but where do I find the video on how to do bootie ? would love to make these
    THANKS SHARON

Tell me what's on your mind

